Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Gallipoli : August 1915

FGT

I'm a novice here, so please forgive any inadequacies on my part.

I was brought up to believe that my grandfather, John Still, along with other members of the East Yorkshire Regiment, achieved the summit of Tekke Tepe, only to discover that the defending force was already in place. They retreated, further lives were lost, they surrendered (further lives were lost) and some/one (?) survived to tell the tale.

As the 90th anniversary approaches, I've been trying to find some hard facts so that I know which areas to explore (see my post on 90th anniversary) and I can't find any. There seems to be rumour, hearsay, contradiction, chronological errors etc etc.

If anyone can point me in the right direction to find out more, I would be very grateful. I live in Turkey so can explore the terrain more easily than I can a library/records office!

Thank you for your time and patience.

I'm a novice here, so please forgive any inadequacies on my part.

I was brought up to believe that my grandfather, John Still, along with other members of the East Yorkshire Regiment, achieved the summit of Tekke Tepe, only to discover that the defending force was already in place. They retreated, further lives were lost, they surrendered (further lives were lost) and some/one (?) survived to tell the tale.

As the 90th anniversary approaches, I've been trying to find some hard facts so that I know which areas to explore (see my post on 90th anniversary) and I can't find any. There seems to be rumour, hearsay, contradiction, chronological errors etc etc.

If anyone can point me in the right direction to find out more, I would be very grateful. I live in Turkey so can explore the terrain more easily than I can a library/records office!

Thank you for your time and patience.