Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

RNAS Armoured Cars 1915

I've got my great grandfathers Certificate of Service in the Royal Navy, which is unfortunately very faded. It says that he joined on the 11th November 1914 and was posted to Pembroke III. Then it was President II from 5th Feb 1915 to 9th March 1916. Cause of discharge being that the armoured cars had disbanded. After that he went to Wormwood Scrubs. He was awarded a chevron in 1915.

Looking through the forum I've learnt that Pembroke and President were accounting bases for the RNAS and that George would have probably been posted abroad. He was a mechanic by trade so as he was posted to Wormwood Scrubs in 1916 I assume he was helping to develop the tanks.

He died in 1979 when I was 11 yrs old but I remember him saying that he was at Gallipoli on machine guns and that he had to look after Queen Mary when the King visited Talbot Works to have a look at the tanks.

Has anyone got any information on the RNAS armoured cars to help me with the above?

Thanks,

Jean-Marc

Jean-Marc

The following RNAS armoured car sqns served in the Dardanelles:

No 3 Sqn with Rolls-Royce armoured cars

One section of No 4 Sqn also with R-Rs

Nos 9-12 Sqns equipped with machine guns on motor-cycle combinations

If your great grandfather was a machine-gunner he would have probably been in one of Nos 9-12 Sqns.

It seems then that he returned to UK and joined No 20 Sqn at Wormwood Scrubs, since it was this unit which was involved in tank development. It was, however, transferred to the Royal Marines at the end of 1917.

Charles M

Jean-Marc

Do you how long he was at Wormwood Scrubs? His RNAS register of service will be at Kew in ADM 188; that may give clues where he went to next and maybe if he was transferred to another unit.

Thanks very much for the information.

I can just make out from the service certificate the following: