Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

missing men

bernardmcilwaine

i have been researching our war memorial in levenshulme for 3 years+,but i cannot connect these men to my home town,there are 33 altogethor,but ime not going to push my luck by posting them all at once,i would appreciate ANYTHING that connects any of them to my town,and believe me i have tried everything,even accosting elderly ladies in the street for info,actually that worked cos i found 2 brothers,these are the first ones.

r.g brown

t.clinton

f.e bell

f.bennett

g.boucher

j.burrell

w.chamberlain

w.crossland

j.davies [he should be easy with that rare name]

h.j ferguson

if anyone finds davies i will donate a fiver to the forum

thanks everyone

Bernard

Taking Boucher as the easy one - I think there is a name mis-spelt and he is actually recorded as G C Bouchier.

Local connection is that he's on the memorial at Hyde Road Bus Depot, just down the road from you.

Have you considered that T Clinton might have been known as Ted but is actually Edward or Edwin, or something.

Apart from all the other usual dodges us memorial researchers use, can I suggest a next port of call might be the Absent Voters List for 1918 (at Mcr Central Library) and trying to find the newspaper report of the unveiling of the memorial (found one of mine like that - chap always used his middle name in official records - but it's his first name on the memorial)

John

Or, alternatively, he really is called Boucher!

1901 Census lists several living "South Manchester" which would include Levenshulme. He might be a young relative born after the Census (or simply not there at the time).

or the family may have wanted to commemorate, say, a cousin, who was killed but didnt live locally - making him possibly one of the eight G Bouchers listed by CWGC but impossible to trace.

Could your Ferguson be H I Ferguson not H J ? There is a Captain H I Feguson on SNWM.

DAVIES

Firstname J