Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Copyright

mac

My name is Mac and I am a Volunteer researcher for my Regimental Museum (RGBW at Salisbury) I am in the process of putting together a photographic history of the former Regiments (Royal Berks and Wiltshire Regiments). In order to make to books more interesting I am trying to turn each image into a story. I was intending for a few of the Victorian ones to use a few lines from Kipling to illustrate in words far better than I can utter to bring the picture to life. That was until today when someone put a spanner in the works and told me I would not be allowed to use any of his words because of copy right and that I must get permission.

Can anyone assist with this dilema. The Exercise I am involved in is for the Museum (a Registered Charity) and I make not a jot (Apart from the pleasure in doing it).

My gut feeling this is not quite right but I don't want to crack on regardless and get the Curator loccked up !!!

Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers

MAC

Mac

Provided you are not quoting complete poems and keep the quotes to 250 words or less you should have no problem. I have just been looking at Brian Gardner's Up the Line to Death: The War Poets 1914-1918 and selected and arranged by Brian Gardner (Methuen, 1964). A number of Kipling poems are included, but I can see no mention of Kipling among the numerous acknowledgements, an indication that no copyright holder could be traced. In any event, copyright in this country does not extend above 75 years and so you are fairly safe.

My advice therefore is to go ahead and ignore the doubters.

And Good luck with your very interesting project.

Charles M