Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Raising a Battalion

SteveE

Showing my complete ignorance here but would the raising of a battalion (for ww1 service only) be subject to, or listed in, Army Orders?

• 2 weeks later...

Just bringing this thread back to the top in the hope that someone may have an answer.

• 2 weeks later...

Steve E;

As I'm new to the GWF, I hope I'm pressing all the right buttons. Anyway in reply to your question you'll find that notices regarding the formation of some New Army units can be found mainly in War Office Instructions. This usually gives you the title of the unit, it's raiser, place it's being raised and the number of battalions, but more importantly the War Office file Number i.e. W.O.20/Gen/???. Each new unit was given a file number for the purpose of correspondence between the War Office and the units raisers.

For example W.O.20/Gen/585 was the file belonging to the 'North Wales Bn, Royal Welsh Fusiliers'. While W.O.20/Gen/3362 was the file of the 'Cambridgeshire Bn, Suffolk Regt' and so on. Sadly it is unknown if any of these files survived the move from the Ministry of Defence to the Public Record Office.

When doing my research for the book Tyneside Scottish many years ago, I enquired with the PRO if they had any of these files, but the reply was they had so many General W.O. Files that only a personal search might uncover what I required.

Army Orders also mention new formations, but not to the extent of W.O. Instrucutons, but they do list all new Divisional formations, which in some cases includes lists of units attached to Divisions for training and termed 'Army Troops'. Army Orders for October 1914 give a good example which include 11th(S)Bn, Kings(L'pool Regt) attached 14th Division, 6th(S)Bn, Bedfordshire Regt attached 9th Division and so on.