Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Pte Morgan RSF & MGC ?? What Btn Coy ?? etc

mike331278

Hi there, I am new to this, Any help would be grately appreciated

Iam trying to find any information on My Great Grandfather,Samuel Morgan b.1886 Cornhill? Kilwinning I only just today recieved this info

No: 42894

Regiment: MGC

Name: Morgan

Initials: S

also Royal Scots fusiliers No 3122004

He has; a military Medal; War Medal; Victory Medal; and a Belgian Croix de

Guerre.

He had a diploma Freedom Of Belgium which was destroyed in a fire at the Regimental Museum RHF 518 sauchiehall street Glasgow

fire in 1985.

Q. What would this diploma be given for

"The Medal was issued for some act of Gallantry that he performed and as it

must have taken place on Belgian soil they also decorated him for valour,

the War Medal and Victory Medal was issued to all the troops taking part in

the war."

Any info or any links or anything that anyone can help me with,

Thank you

Michael Lindsay

mike331278@hotmail.com

What Btn or Coy of the RSF or MGC would he have been in , any help would be appreciated

post-7021-1116887411.jpg

This is his Medal Index Card for his Service Medals.

http://www.documentsonline.nationalarchive...1&resultcount=3

This is his MM card:

http://www.documentsonline.nationalarchive...1&resultcount=5

Have you read the Long, Long Trail's guidance on the Medal Index Cards?

Each of these are downloadable costing £3.50 each. The MM card should tell you when the London Gazette published his MM award which is usually 2-4 months after the action in which it was won.

However, here is the London Gazette entry:

Gazette of 16-July-1918 (published 12-July-1918)

42894 Pte. S. Morgan, M.G. Corps (Irvine)

The MM may well have been from the German Spring Offensive in March 1918. There are no citations for MMs.

Steve.

Many thanx Steve, Will it be worthme downloading the cards, is there much info on them???

thanx again