Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Liet. R.W. Spong RAF d. 31.10.1918

robbie

Lieutenant Robert William Spong, RAF buried in Shorncliffe Military Cemetery.

CWGC has his death as 30.10.1918. Which is correct?

Also, is this headstone unusual? It differs from the others in this cemetery. THe RAF inscription is within the boundaries of the cross.

WHat do others think of this?

I would be grateful for additional information about this man.

Robbie

post-4246-1116694649.jpg

Is it actually a CWGC stone ? or a private one which just looks a bit like the 'real' thing?

I'm not an expert, but isn't 'In ever loving memory of' and the year of birth pretty non-standard.

Jock Bruce

Is it actually a CWGC stone ? or a private one which just looks a bit like the 'real' thing?

I'm not an expert, but isn't 'In ever loving memory of' and the year of birth pretty non-standard.

Jock Bruce

Yes, Jock, I also wondered whether it was a private stone. Why wouldn't he have a CWGC stone, though? He is in the CWGC database.

Odd.

Robbie

Robbie

I'm no expert, but I'm also pretty sure that the "in loving memory" will indicate this a private stone.

As he's in the CWGC database, it's likely the Commission maintains it and, presumably, would replace it, in years to come, with the standard issue.

In our local cemetery, there's a little group of WW1 service burials all with private stones and all very nicely maintained.

John

Robbie

I'm no expert, but I'm also pretty sure that the "in loving memory" will indicate  this a private stone.

As he's in the CWGC database, it's likely the Commission maintains it and, presumably, would replace it, in years to come, with the standard issue.

In our local cemetery, there's a little group of WW1 service burials all with private stones and all very nicely maintained.

John