Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

SIMS REEVE 1ST CAMBS REGIMENT

chrisreeve

NEW TO WEBSITE...

I AM RESEARCHING SIMS REEVE, 1ST CAMBS REGIMENT( MY GREAT, GREAT UNCLE I THINK )SERVICE NUMBER 327531. HE WAS KIA 26.03.1917.

I AM LOOKING FOR ANY EXTRA HELP OR INFO. I HAVE ONLY BEEN LOOKING INTO THIS FOR A COUPLE OF MONTHS, BUT NOW IM HOOKED !!.

I HAVE BASIC KNOWLEDGE OF HIS MOVEMENTS DURING 1917, HE SEEMS TO HAVE BEEN MAINLY IN THE SANCTUARY WOODS AREA, BUT DETAILS ARE SCARCE. HE WAS KILLED DURING BOX BARRAGE DURING ENEMY RAID ON " CRAB CRAWL". WHERE IS THIS, WHAT WAS THIS?. I AM HOPING TO GO VISIT HIS GRAVE SITE AT RAILWAY DUGOUTS LATER THIS YEAR, WHILST I AM THERE I WOULD LIKE TO RETRACE HIS STEPS. IF THERE IS ANYBODY THAT COULD HELP THE NEW BLOKE, THAT WOULD BE VERY HELPFULL.

Hi Chris, :)

Just in case you don't have this info:-

Formally 5701 Cambridgeshire Regiment. Enlisted Bury St Edmunds.

Cheers

Tim.

Hi Chris, :)

Just in case you don't have this info:-

Formally 5701 Cambridgeshire Regiment. Enlisted Bury St Edmunds.

Cheers

Tim.

THANKS FOR QUICK REPLY TIM. ALOT OF THE BASIC INFO I HAVE ALREADY THANKS TO A HELPFULL MAN CALLED CLIFF BROWN WHO DEALS WITH CAMBS REGIMENT HISTORY. BUT KEEP IT COMMING!!

Again, you've probably got it but THIS is the link to his MIC.

Technically he would have been 1/1st Battalion Cambridgeshire Regiment. The other battalions never left the UK.

5701 would have been his number before 1-3-1917 and 327531 afterwards. Very briefly unfortunately. Most references to him, apart from his death, would therfore refer to his earlier number.

Steve

THANKS FOR THE INFO, I LOOKED AT THE WEB LINK, COULD YOU EXPLAIN WHAT THEY HAVE AN IMAGE OF, I AM NEW TO ALL THIS SO EXCUSE MY IGNORANCE. I CLICKED ON THE " CATALOGUE REFERENCE " BUT STILL DIDNT UNDERSTAND WHAT I WAS LOOKING AT.