Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Soldier killed in 1915

Tom Morgan

A couple of recent events (including Michelle's recent "Remembering Today 1st Dorsets" post) have re-kindled my interest in 3/7283 Pte. Harry Woods (Ist Dorsets.)

As some Pals will know, I did quite a lot of research on this soldier some years ago but came up against a brick wall. Full story here.

It just occured to me that I have never looked up Harry's Medal Index Card and as they are now on-line I just did so. I'm no MIC expert, though. The card is quite basic with a record of entitlement to the BWM and the Victory Medal, with no further notes or annotations.

But as he was killed in action in July, 1915, shouldn't he be entitled to the 1915 Star? Or even the 1914 Star, as he was member of the 1st Battalion, and might have been out with them in 1914?

Question 1 - am I right about a Star?

Question 2 - I'm sure I've learned here that some soldiers who have star entitlement have two MIC cards. If there are two cards for Harry, would they be listed together in the National Archive website search results? I'm sure I could only see one card listed.

Question 3 - as the MIC has no complicated additions written on, is it a safe assumption that the medals were sent to a given address and duly received without any problem?

Any advice on these questions gratefully received.

Tom

Tom

Get your specs out, polish them and have another look :blink: . Both MICs are listed one after the other if searched on Reg number 3/7283 . One is for Wood the other is for Woods.

http://www.documentsonline.nationalarchive...1&resultcount=6

http://www.documentsonline.nationalarchive...1&resultcount=6

Andy

Any advice on these questions gratefully received.

Tom

I think Max's advice was "You should have went to Specs Savers" :P