Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Help needed!

Andrew Upton

I am in my second year of my archaeology degree at Exeter University, and I need to choose a topic for my third year dissertation, and work on it during the summer holidays.

I plan to do my dissertation on the archaeology of the First World War battlefields, as I feel this is an area that has largley been neglected by professional archaologists, and I want to try and emphasize just how important such sites are, and how controlled excavation does add to our knowledge of the period.

To help me on this, I feel that working on an actual battlefield excavation would help me to gain a greater understanding of the issues involved. Does anybody on this forum know of any excavations, or people involved in excavations, relating to the Great War being conducted in the future that I might contact and see if a willing volunteer would be able to participate?

Thanks in advance,

Andrew Upton.

Search 'members' for Martin Brown ... he is involved with the 'No Man's Land' group .. I hope I'm right there!

Try giving him a yell.

Search 'members' for Martin Brown ... he is involved with the 'No Man's Land' group .. I hope I'm right there!

Try giving him a yell.

Thanks for that - I think I tried conntacting him after I read the thread on Thipeval, but recieved no reply. I sent another message though, and fingers crossed I'll get a reply!

You could try Andrew Robertshaw at the National Army Museum, not sure of the email but look at their website and send it to the education department.

JOhn

I also sent Andrew Robertshaw an email some time ago as I spoke to him some time ago on a very similar issue - but again I haven't yet received a reply. Please do keep suggesting other names, as I really do want to work on a WW1 battlefield for my dissertation.

Andrew