Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Help with locating coordinates

Carolyn5771

Hi

I have just been to visit my great-grandfathers grave at Serre Road Cemetery but discovered that he was originally buried elsewhere, can anyone help find a modern location for the reference 57c.N.33.d.8.5. - his name if it helps is Andrew Russell of the Scots Guards number 12675, I would really appreciate any assistance as I am fairly new to this.

Many thanks

• Admin

It says he was originally buried in the bank of a sunken road. 

• Admin

As far as I can tell, it’s approximately here. Should be easy enough to find on the ground. 

map copyright National Library of Scotland. 

IMG_1112.jpeg

IMG_1113.png

• Admin

The 2 Scots Guards War Diaries are here, free after free registration. This will tell you about his war. 
https://discovery.nationalarchives.gov.uk/details/r/C7351852

His medal index card ©️ Ancestry shows he did not enter a theatre of war until after 31/12/1915. 

IMG_1114.jpeg

1 hour ago, Carolyn5771 said:

Hi

I have just been to visit my great-grandfathers grave at Serre Road Cemetery but discovered that he was originally buried elsewhere, can anyone help find a modern location for the reference 57c.N.33.d.8.5. - his name if it helps is Andrew Russell of the Scots Guards number 12675, I would really appreciate any assistance as I am fairly new to this.

Many thanks

You can easily get the exact point. Just put 57c.N.33.d.8.5 into the box in TrenchMapper and click Convert. Then you can select from 350 maps in the left panel. Some have trenches, some not. The undated maps are such because they were not marked with a date on the original.

You can right click and select Streetview and have a look around.