Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Pte John J Callaly 3607 Lancashire Fusiliers - in which Battalion did he serve?

colm callaly

hi all, 

looking for information on my grandfather, John Callaly, in particular confirmation that he served in the 9th Service Battalion of the LF. any suggestions welcome please (im a newbie at this !). 

• Admin

Welcome to the Forum

He earned his 1914/1915 Star with the 9th Battalion LF.

His VM/BWM Medal Roll shows that he ended his service with the 16th Battalion so it is evident he was posted at some time from the 9th to the 16th.

Regards

Russ

• Admin

He is on a WO Casualty List dated 18/08/1917 in a long list of wounded LF men (name misspelt as Callery)

It is likely he was posted from the 9th to the 16th following his recovering from this wound.

Just to note that the actual wounding would have been around 3 to 5 weeks before the date of the record.

Russ

(Image courtesy The Genealogist)

3607 LF.jpg

• Admin

Just FYI, the correct abbreviation for a Private soldier in the British and Dominions Armies is Pte. Pvt is a US abbreviation. 

• RussT changed the title to Pte John J Callaly 3607 Lancashire Fusiliers - in which Battalion did he serve?

Russ,

thanks a lot for this - how would I go about ascertaining the date of his transfer ? - trying to understand exactly where he served on the western front after returning from Gallipoli ?

• Admin

He was also wounded late 1917 - he is on a WO Casualty List dated 02/11/1917.

Russ

3607 LF 2.jpg

• Admin
2 minutes ago, colm callaly said:

how would I go about ascertaining the date of his transfer ? - trying to understand exactly where he served on the western front after returning from Gallipoli ?

Without a service record (he does not have one) it will be difficult if not impossible to find his date of posting (not transfer) from the 9th to the 16th.