Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

1915 no1 mk3?

billybobjoebob

I am brand new to this form and collecting, there seems to be a faded 1 between the 9 and messed up 5, what do you folks think?

RDT_20240415_0734167354535306852822718~2.jpg

Its a WWII produced rifle called a DISPERSAL RIFLE - when, after the BSA Small Heath plant was bombed, production of components was dispersed to  contractors and only final assembly was done at the BSA plant. Collectors sometimes call these "B Dispersal" rifles.

Usually the last two numbers are hand stamped 43, 44, 45.  It looks to me as though the 4 has been blurred out in this pic. The last number may be a 5 but actually more likely (stats wise) to be a 3 (the two are sometimes quite difficult to distinguish if misstruck even slightly)

There is some evidence to suggest some of these rifles were sometimes assembled using earlier recycled receivers (there is slight "dishing" where the original marks were removed. (see the area around the crown/cypher on this example)

Chris

Edited by 4thGordons
typo correction

Agreed, 1943 BSA dispersal.

59 minutes ago, 4thGordons said:

Its a WWII produced rifle called a DISPERSAL RIFLE - when, after the BSA Small Heath plant was bombed, production of components was dispersed to  contractors and only final assembly was done at the BSA plant. Collectors sometimes call these "B Dispersal" rifles.

Usually the last two numbers are hand stamped 43, 44, 45.  It looks to me as though the 4 has been blurred out in this pic. The last number may be a 5 but actually more likely (stats wise) to be a 3 (the two are sometimes quite difficult to distinguish if misstruck even slightly)

There is some evidence to suggest some of these rifles were sometimes assembled using earlier recycled receivers (there is slight "dishing" where the original marks were removed. (see the area around the crown/cypher on this example)

Chris