Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

7th Army, RE (Motor Cyclist Section) - Leonard Huggett. Who are his pals?.....

bhuggs

Wondering if anybody can help piece together a puzzle with a photograph. In the middle of the riders Leonard Huggett - reg# 192366. I have his service record, which states that when called to the colours, he was to report to the Fenny Stratford Signal Depot. This was in 1916. I therefore assume that this photo is from Fenny Stratford. There is also the bigger group photo containing these five plus what I assume is their platoon or something.

There is a family theory that at least some of the other desptach riders with him are in fact his brothers, but I don't have photos of them for comparison. Service record searches for his brothers are also absent, or potentially contradictory to this theory. (I'm a fairly experienced genealogy hobbyist but haven't dived too deep into Military history before). So it may be wrong.

Regardless, I'd love to know if there might be any way to identify names for other soliders in Leonard's regiment? 

Hoping this will tell me if there's more Huggetts

Cheers

Huggetts in here somewhere.jpg

Leonard, Victor, Albert, Percy Huggett.jpg

• Admin

@bhuggs

Welcome to the GWF

If new to researching soldiers of the Great War we always recommend you study the Long Long Trail website on how to research a soldier. Link top left.  You are fortunate in that, although badly burnt, Hugget's record has survived along with the brilliant photos.

I suggest the first port of call would be the Medal Rolls on Ancestry and a spreadsheet.

As far as I can make out you are asking two questions:-

The first is are the brothers of 192366 Huggett in either photograph?