Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Questions regarding the Italian Front

ohnonotme

Greetings!

I'm a writer looking to get published in the future and I have a few questions regarding this specific topic. I'm writing a historical fiction set during the Great War but I'm currently only doing research for now. 

1. In the Italian front of the war, did military chaplains stay with the army or were they assigned to other positions outside of giving last rites and final absolution?

2. Were there mercy dogs in the Dolomites?

3. What did Catholic military chaplains look like? Are there photos of them in uniform while in the front lines in the Dolomites?

These are the only questions I can think of for now, I might add more later. Also, sorry for posting these here. I don't know where else to ask them as I've scoured the internet for the answers to them, but they have been insufficient.

Edited by ohnonotme

• Admin

@ohnonotme Welcome to the GWF

There is a lot of information online concerning British Army Chaplains in the Great War.  This is a British site and therefore, for better or worse, aAnglocentric.

e.g. https://www.beaumont-union.co.uk/pdfs/CATHOLIC CHAPLAINS in THE GREAT WAR WW1.pdf

It is not clear whether your query relates to chaplains in the British or Italian Armies.

In general terms British Army Catholic Chaplains were close to their 'flock' but like all chaplains tended to work closely with medical services, e.g at Advanced Dressing Stations, Casualty Clearing Stations and so on.  They would travel around the front to offer religious observance, e.g. Communion etc.  As the above link identifies there was an affinity with Irish Regiments, though by no means exclusive.  I do not believe there were any Irish Regiments in Italy but Scots etc would have had Catholic soldiers and no doubt Catholic Chaplains were posted to that theatre..