Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

What was the role of a regiment, and it's Colonel etc, during WW1 ?

Simon Cains

Not sure which topic this should be in.  Sorry I have no military background.  But I understand that before WW1, and after, a regiment would only have maybe 2 or 3 battalions, one perhaps for training and recruiting.  A regiment would usually be commanded by a Colonel or Lieutenant Colonel ?   But during WW1, regiments expanded enormously, e.g. the West Yorkshire Regiment had up to 27 battalions, which were scattered throughout 11 different divisions, plus 7 home defense and training battalions.  So would their commanding officer and his team have much contact with all these active battalions, or be mostly concerned with recruitment and training ?  Did Regimental commanders tend to stay in the UK during WW1 ?   

I am interested because my great-grandfather was an RSM, and one ex-officer told me the RSM would be the Regimental commander's right-hand man.  However lots of RSMs were killed on active service, so they didn't stay in the UK or in rear camps to supervise recruitment and training.  

Did soldiers on active service have much, if any, contact with their regiment headquarters ?

Thanks very much.

For starters, a line infantry regiment would have a Colonel-in-Chief. For the South Wales Borderers, this man was George Paton, born 1841, and appointed 26 November 1902. He remained in the post until 26 February 1922. He was a Major General since 8 April 1898. I am ignorant as to what ceremonial duties he would have performed during peacetime.

In the Hapsburg Empire, the head of the regiment was the Inhaber. There were financial benefits, as I understand it. As I understand it, European regiments would typically consist of 3 or 4 battalions, and they would deploy together. The Cardwell and Childers reforms would see two-battalion regiments, with one battalion overseas, and the other performing home service.