Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Thomas Snashfold

ilovechestnuts

Good day all

I am new to ancestry researching & wondered it anyone could elaborate on this info supplied by a distant cousin or how I might obtain my great grandfathers service records...

Thomas Snashfold

Date of birth 06 September 1876/1877

TIA

• Admin
32 minutes ago, ilovechestnuts said:

Good day all

I am new to ancestry researching & wondered it anyone could elaborate on this info supplied by a distant cousin or how I might obtain my great grandfathers service records...

Thomas Snashfold

Date of birth 06 September 1876/1877

TIA

Welcome to the GWF

Thomas Snashfold a scaffolder living at 90 Edward Road Croydon born 1877 appears in the Surrey Recruitment Registers on FindMyPast He was conscripted aged 39years and 11 months and attested at Kingston on the 16th August 1916.  
He was posted to the 29th (Works) Battalion Middlesex Regiment which became the 5th Labour Company of the Labour Corps in April 1917. He was allocated the regimental number 17735.  If he transferred to the Labour Corps he would have been given a new number.

https://www.longlongtrail.co.uk/army/regiments-and-corps/the-british-infantry-regiments-of-1914-1918/the-duke-of-cambridges-own-middlesex-regiment/

If new to researching soldiers we recommend you study the above site.

Over 3/5ths of WW1 service records were destroyed following a fire at the warehouse where they were stored when it was bombed in WW2.  His service record has not survived.

He does not appear to have served overseas in a theatre of war therefore no medals.

9 hours ago, kenf48 said:

He does not appear to have served overseas in a theatre of war therefore no medals.

He has another service number...

oops my apologies that is Benjamin Snashfold  (43714 Middlesex Regiment; 584684 Labour Corps)

George

Surrey Recruitment Registers

courtesy Ancestry

image.jpeg.6c0c2bfa936938dd08d5755e6867c53c.jpeg

George