Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

F Drabble 212955 raf

arantxa

Hello

I have ancestry but it doesnt seem to have RAF records could some one tell me where else i can look  the national archives says its in mypast but im not a member of that i just want to see his occupation in the RAF

His record is on FindMyPast.  You should be able to access it at a local library.

Thank you for looking that up for me I’m very appreciative 

have a good evening 

The RAF Records are also available on Ancestrys sister site of Fold 3 and Forces War Records

When I clicked on Fold 3 it said you have to upgrade which seems a bit unfair ad I’ve been paying to Ancestry for 6 years every month 

Who is best for value ? 

Interesting to see on his service record that he declared his occupation was that of a FOOTBALLER -- a quick search comes up with him playing in goal for a number of clubs including Tottenham Hotspur; Burnley; Bradford Park Avenue; Bolton Wanderers and Southport.

Gosh thats interesting can you post his service record up  only if you have time 

Depending on when he played football at Bradford Park Avenue he may have been in the same team as Donald Simpson Bell, the only English professional footballer to win a Victoria Cross.

Simon

Edited by mancpal
Pressed send by mistake

1 minute ago, mancpal said:

Depending on when he played football at Bradford Park Avenue

It looks like he played for Bradford Park Avenue for a single season, 1913-14, according to his Wikipedia page.

Bell joined Bradford Park Avenue in 1913 so its highly likely they were teammates.

Simon

I was just reading about Bell...what a brave chap