Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

William Eade 2nd Hants and 14th Hants died on the Somme but was he in Gallipoli as well?

helen Banham

Good morning everyone. I am a complete novice to all this and struggling to make sense of things and wondered if anyone could help please? I am researching William Eade who was killed on 3rd Sep 1916 whilst fighting just north of the River Ancre. He was with the 14th Battalion Hampshire Regiment and I have found various memorials and references to him. I read through the war diary of the Battalion and thought I had a good idea of what his war experience was. However I then saw his medal card and there are 4 lines (see photo). It records he was in the 2nd Hants (I presume 2nd Btn), then the 14th, then the 2nd and then the 14th again. Without a service record will I be able to unpick where he might have fought? I have looked up the 2nd Btn and see they fought in Gallipoli but I am really stumped as to how to unravel this. He was Private William Eade 10627. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks for reading.

Untitled document - Google Docs.png

UK, World War I Service Medal and Award Rolls, 1914-1920 - Ancestry.co.uk (2).png

• Admin

Welcome to the forum. His medal index card shows he first entered a theatre of war 2b Balkans-so yes he would have served at Gallipoli. 

image ©️ Ancestry 

IMG_0285.jpeg

• Michelle Young changed the title to William Eade 2nd Hants and 14th Hants died on the Somme but was he in Gallipoli as well?

Hi Michelle thank you so much for this. I have a lot to learn because I hadn't found this medal card. 2b I presume is for 2nd Battalion and is that date of entry of 29 Aug 1915 the date he would have enlisted? I so want to get this right.

• Admin

2B is the theatre of war code. The date is the date he entered said theatre of war. 
List of codes here