Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Canadian Memorial Cross, GVIR, Bar Suspension and Death Penny

Steve123

Hello:

I have the Canadian Memorial Cross for Pte. J.F. Ward (730484) which is pictured below.  I have one question on the bar:

-  I don't believe that this is the original bar unless there was a short production of the type?  The bar is also in sterling and I don't see any marks on the ring, such as to close it with pliers.  Also, there may have been something ornamental in the "Field" of the bar at sometime unless it is just aged as so.

Also, in his records, there is a mention of Plaque P37941.  Would this relate to the so-called "Death Penny", if numbered?  I have read that only some were numbered behind the Lion's leg.  

Thank you,

Steve

20240215_140615.jpg

20240215_140900.jpg

Edited by Steve123
added info

I am not an expert on Canadian Memorial Crosses by any means but I have seen a good number of them during my collecting career, Some have the additional top clasp but many dont.

This example is seen ocassionally but not as common as some, they would have ben added by the family (mother, wife etc) after issue. Normally the CM cross is suspended by a thin purple (sometimers blue) ribbon.

Thanks, I have seen them with a thin issued bar, but not this one.  Probably added as you say, by the mother.

Plaque was sent to his mother Jun 17, 1921.

Just now, Steve123 said:

Thanks, I have seen them with a thin issued bar, but not this one.  Probably added as you say, by the mother.

As i said in my previous post I am not an expert on these as I never collected them, but I have seen this type of suspension on the Canadian Naval crosses dating from 2 WW period.

Just now, Steve123 said:

Thanks, RNCVR, I have all of his records already.

OK I was not certain, but thought i would mention it to you.  All CEF records are available on line now.

1 hour ago, RNCVR said: