Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Information about Left Flank Signal Station, ANZAC

HMSWATERWITCH

Hi,

I am studying naval gunfire support at ANZAC. I found a map online of ANZAC area showing, among many other things, the "Left-Flank Signal Station" and I cannot now re-locate it.

Does anyone have a map showing this naval observation post, or have any information about what went on there, how signals were sent to the Naval Base Station on the beach, specific details of working there, a photograph or anything else that might be of interest?

I'd be interested in any related maps showing how the Army artillery observation posts were connected up to the naval fire support network. Things like that.

I have all Admiral Robeck's reports from ADM 137, I am digging deeper than what's in there.

Many thanks,

Arthur

Hi Arthur,

If you happen to have access to Chris Robert's work The Artillery at ANZAC: Adaptation, Innovation and Education, then he covers both land-based and NGS.  The whole book is on artillery adaptation, so naval gunfire comes into it a bit.

From memory, I've seen some of the diagrams in the unit war diaries.  A quick refresher of the 1st Australian Divisional Signal Company diary from April 1915 diary shows 3 or 4 diagrams in 11 pages, with a reasonable text explanation in the diary narrative of what they did and how they connected.  This is from page 11:

image.png.4240a7f5aab36b61915c7ec358f5d762.png

You can follow the months and by the time they got to November, it certainly was a sophisticated network and some of the locations are named as well.  My apologies if you've already consulted these references. 

image.png.48f5bd0a56a6d6968250e47d9e5a7ba5.png

The 2nd AIF Divisional Signals Company only has 1 diagram in the November 1915 diary.  Very comprehensive & sophisticated but more of an internal diagram.