Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Hookie P1907 - help with identifying - may be early Australian marks - may be fake...

Harzer

Hi,

by accident I came around a HQ P1907.  I'm not an expert for early P1907 therefore I have some questions.

My current view on the HQ:

- P1907 with Enfield mark on ricasso and March 1912 as production date

- Crown with GR (George) clearly fitting to the production date

- backside of the ricasso we have early Enfield proof marks and a SOS marking (yes unusal place for the SOS but some examples already seen)

- crosspiece marked with a "V" and 5 digit (may be early Australia / Victoria)

- NO "D" Arrow mark on the pommel

- WW2 scabbard with a green/brownish color but marked on leather and steel with EFD 

What is your opinion about the byonett? Any fake signs? The V marking with 5 digits on the crosspiece without any Defence mark on the pommel....

Thanks for your thoughts and information!

20231228_082647.jpg

20231227_112434.jpg

20231227_112410.jpg

20231227_112638.jpg

20231227_112700.jpg

57 minutes ago, Harzer said:

...My current view on the HQ:

- P1907 with Enfield mark on ricasso and March 1912 as production date

- Crown with GR (George) clearly fitting to the production date

- backside of the ricasso we have early Enfield proof marks and a SOS marking (yes unusal place for the SOS but some examples already seen)

- crosspiece marked with a "V" and 5 digit (may be early Australia / Victoria)

- NO "D" Arrow mark on the pommel

- WW2 scabbard with a green/brownish color but marked on leather and steel with EFD... 

20231228_082647.jpg

Well it looks like a good one here. Another point to note - no clearance hole in the pommel (which would be correct for an unmodified 1912 example).