Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

I am writing a book on the Battle of Passchendaele, from the German perspective, and I could use some pointers for help

Ersatz Made

I am writing an anti-war novel based on the Third Battle of Ypres, or Battle Passchendaele, from the German perspective. I have plenty of knowledge of the battle itself, but I plan to make this as historically accurate as possible, while still being able to show the hopelessness of the battle, and the war in general. I was wondering if I could get some pointers on the tactics, weaponry, soldiers, dates, and landscape of the battle, to help me as much as possible. 

Have you read Jack Sheldon's book on the German Army at Passchendaele? Loads of first hand accounts from throughout the campaign.

Robert

Thank you for this information! I will definitely check that out!

Robert beat me to it !

It has to be Jack Sheldon’s book.

The German High Command made some statements about the ordeal of the troops, with Hindenburg chipping in with a very evocative passage in his memoirs : the lonely German soldiers in the shell holes who struggled against an overwhelming preponderance of men and material. All too often the mass prevailed, he wrote.

Isn’t there a harrowing painting by Otto Dix titled Flanders  ? A picture that speaks volumes about terror, death and squalour . A perfect illustration for the cover of your book.

Best wishes for your endeavour. Hoping it goes well for you.

Phil

Edited by phil andrade

There is another very important book to read. A theme of the hopelessness of the battle, and of war in general, is one way to explore Third Ypres. My next recommendation offers up important insights that are more nuanced and more challenging:

'War experiences in rural Germany 1914-1923' by Benjamin Ziemann.