Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Correct Cap Badges

CA479

Hi, Please forgive me if I am asking a question which has been asked before, I am a newbie to the forum & need experienced members to help me.

My Great Grandfather, David Ross joined the Black Watch, Royal Highlanders 4th Battalion Territorial Force in Kinghorn, Fife on the 3rd September 1914.  He saw overseas action in December 1915 & again from September 1916 to April 1917.  He won the 1915 Star, British War Medal & the Victory Medal.  I know that he made it home, as he was invalided out of the colours due to illness.

My question is which cap badge would he have worn?  I can find two examples, with variations of colour & materials used on both designs - images below, but no explanation of the designs.

Also, why would a man who signed up in Kinghorn, Fife be put into the 4th Battalion, which I believe was a Perthshire Battalion?

Many, many thanks in advance for any help or information.

CNR479

Badge 1.JPG

Badge 2.JPG

Badge 3.JPG

In 1914-15 he would not have worn any of those.  the top one is pre 1908 (except for a school OTC), the brass one is Canadian and the bottom one is the 1902 Regular badge that the TF did not wear until 1916.

Here is a better image of the badge described.

IMG_0057.jpeg

In response to your second question if he enlisted at the start of the war then the previous regional links were often overlooked.  He may have enlisted in the BW and sent to which ever battalion had capacity to take him. There was a rush of volunteers and they ended up in some odd places.  My wife's relatives were all Taunton based but when they enlisted in 1915 one ended up in the Gloster TF and another joined the Royal Irish Regiment.  The geographic links were even more eroded from 1916 onwards.