Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Uncle Harry

ole Bill

e

Hello,

This is my first attempt at creating a topic so please forgive me if I havn't don it right.

I’m yet another amateur genealogist researching his family history, in this case my adoptive family, and I really need help from people more conversant than I am with British military uniforms and insignia. Having read through a number of posts in this forum I’m hoping that this is where I may get some answers.

The images attached are crops from a scan of an original sepia toned print which was printed in a postcard format typical of the World War I period. I’ve run it through Photoshop to increase the contrast and render it as true monochrome but have refrained from attempting to enhance it further.

The original photo was taken in a studio in east London, on a date unknown. Detailed examination of the original image, which is in rather poor condition, shows no more detail than can be gleaned from the scan images attached.

The man’s identity is unknown to me being only shown as ‘Uncle Harry’ in an inscription on the rear of the photograph.  From what I know of my family history, the little girl (my Aunt) visible in the image was born in the third quarter (July to September) 1913. From this I feel that the photograph was taken about mid-1916. Family aural history relates that my grandmother was in a relationship with a man during World War I, who was never named to me, that she gave birth to a son in March 1917, and that the father ‘died during the war’. Whether or not that is Uncle Harry in the photograph remains a mystery to me.