Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

James Moody Cantley, WW1 Royal Navy Records 1915-1919

JillM

Hello all, I am a complete newbie here, so please bear with me.  For the last few years, I have been doing some family history and genealogy research.  Over this time, I did not find any relatives who had done any military service; most of my family were in the shipbuilding industry - someone explained to me that perhaps because of this, it was unlikely that any of them had been drafted, as it was a critical industry during wartime.

Anyway, my surprise this week was that apparently one of my ancestors, James Moody Cantley, a marine engineer, did in fact sign up during WW1 to the Royal Navy... i managed to find his record, but its pretty difficult to make much out of it, partly due to the general messy/faded writing, but also due to the terms and acronyms used which I am not familiar with.

Reading through what I can, it seems like he signed up rather than was drafted, or rather, transferred from the RN Division, on 8th Feb 1915. It also says he was "mobilised before training undergone" which seems odd... There is a list of where he served, although having read through other posts, seems like those are on-shore depots rather than actual ships:  Sabrina/Erasus (13.02.1915) then Vivid (1916), then Gunner (1916-1017), then Pekin (01.08.1917), Pembroke (14.08.1917), Osiris 2 (1917: Lizzie Flett?, Hannibal? from Egmont?, looks something like Port Said?) and the final one I cannot read.

The other really interesting bit I could glean from records, although not his finest hour at all, is that it appears he deserted from Gunner on 17 November 1916 and was then reinstated back to Gunner in July of the following year... My understanding was that desertion was a capital offence during warfare however, It says he was sentenced to 28 days in Calton prison before being reinstated but I cannot find any records of that.