Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Nurse Mary Potts

mancpal

I recently started a thread in skindles regarding a nurses cloak badge from the Princess Christians Army Nursing Service Reserve (issue #164) and with the assistance of Dave66 and ZeZe it appears Miss Potts earned a QSA for the Boer War and a 14-15 trio . 
The badge belongs to a friends family and my view is it would better retained by them though I fear they’ll sell it. I’m hoping to give them a more detailed history of her service which may change their minds.

My initial problem is I have no experience of researching nursing staff of any era so don’t know where to start looking. Secondly, I don’t have any subscriptions so if my local library doesn’t have subscriptions to relevant genealogy sites (Ancestry only I think) then I’m stuffed!

I would like to know if she also won a KSA and what she did between the two wars she served in. Again, from the help I received over in skindles she was Acting Matron aboard the Hunslet which evacuated some of the injured from Gallipoli.

I’d be grateful for any pointers or links that may assist. Thanks for reading.

Simon

Thanks David, I consider that a flying start! Am I to assume that nursing records were stored away from soldiers records thus avoiding the blitz and how complete is the archive? 
Thanks again 

Simon

Edited by mancpal
Spelled my name wrong

Simon,

According to Sue Light, PCANSR ceased to be employed in military hospitals, and recruitment ceased. Nurses were graded to see if they were suitably qualified to become members of QAIMNS. Mary Potts applied to join QAIMNS but withdrew her application on 26/02/09. [Service record pages 9&10]. By September 1914 there were still 337 names on the PCANSR Roll. Mary's service record shows her as a member of the ANSR, [service record pages 13&14] but she would have worn the uniform of the QAIMNSR.