Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Medals to Men from Merthyr Tydfil, South Wales

GMB

I am currently undertaking a project within the Merthyr Tydfil (South Wales) area, where I am compiling a Casualty list of men who were KIA during WW1 as there was never an accurate one produced (believe it or not). I am currently at 1200 men(!) and counting.

Part of this (and as part of my collecting theme), is noting what medals are extant to men from Merthyr who were either KIA or were awarded a gallantry award during WW1. If any members have any medals that fit this description, I would love to hear about them & highlight them as part of my project.

Thanks

Gavin

Hi Gavin,

I've been undertaking a similar project for Anglesey for many years now.  Just for comparison my casualties total is currently 1,279 - a reflection of Merthyr's population back then, compared to Anglesey's!  

My figures however go beyond those killed in action to the men who died of wounds, sickness, accident etc. during and after the war, as the CWGC runs up to 1921.  Local war memorials may also mention individuals who (by whatever measure the local committees used) died as a result of the war even up to 1924 (there were 62 war-related deaths in the period 1919-24 that I'm aware of).  The last one known to me died of wounds in 1948 when he was in his 50s, according to his gravestone! 

At any rate, if I identify any Merthyr residents on my list I'll be sure to let you know, and all power to your research project.

Cheers,

Clive  

Thanks Clive, same this side if I get any on my Merthyr list from up your way.

I have to say I have been shocked by the number of casualties from the Borough, but never thought it would compare to somewhere like Anglesey! How long have you been researching?