Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

British Rations

Dave1346

Hello All!

I'm new to this site and have been gathering background information for a graphic novel that I'm working on. I am not a professional graphic artist. By day, I'm a high school teacher in rural Nevada and teach Culinary Arts. 

As a trained chef, I've long been interested in all things culinary and have been fascinated by the idea of kitchen operations as they were operated by the British, French, and the Germans. In doing my background research, it would seem that most armies (at least among the German, French and the British; had some version of a gulaschkanone or field kitchen. 

In focusing on the British, I understand that the meals that were served were often regarded as both monotonous and hideous. I would suppose the monotony would come from the limited fare of stew for dinner and soup for lunch with bread or hardtack if bread was not available. 

In terms of the quality of the meals that were made in these field kitchens, I suspect the following (and would appreciate your input regarding my opinion).

Prior to 1917 when the British formed the Women's Army Auxiliary Corps (WAAC), and some women were assigned as cooks, the overall quality of the food was poor was because:

1) The army had assigned soldiers to serve as cooks who had no prior experience as cooks.

2) The cultural norm at this time was that cooking was women's work. 

3) The cooks had army cookbooks but lacked the experience to do anything other than to blindly adhere to a recipe. This assumes that they understood the measurements and use of culinary terms such as the difference between a boil and simmer. 

4) Food was carried to the soldiers in the front trench in latched mess containers. Given how far they had to travel from the reserve area, the food would often be cold by the time it had arrived.