Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Finding out what someone may have done in the war

Raindancer411

Hi there

My son is studying the first and Second World War these next two terms at school and it’s made me want to find out more about the family that served in the wars. I saw a family members and she has kindly lent me my great grandads actual papers from WW1. It lists what I guess are training grounds and ships. I am mainly aiming at the ones between 1913-1919. Is there any way to find out more on what the details mean on the papers please? I am new to this so any help is appreciated.

7258A5CA-706C-44F0-ACEB-144BE46A6D0C.png

What was his full name, and where is he from?

He served on a couple of gunboats in Mesopotamia (Blackfly & Gnat).

MB

Briefly ......

COCHRANE - Armoured Cruiser 1905 - 1918

VICTORY - Base Portsmouth

EXCELLENT - Gunnery School Portsmouoth (he was likely a Gunnery rating)

SUTLEJ - Armouored Cruiser 1899- 1921 & accommodation base at Rosyth

EGMONT - Base ship at Malta - he might have been involvedin the Dardaneles campaign?

DALHOUSIE -  Troop ship , later base at Basra

BLACKFLY (attached to Dalhousie) Fly class River Gunboat  1917

GNAT - (attached to Dalhousie) Coastal Destroyer of 1906, later TB08.

TAMAR - Troopship, then Base at Hong Kong during 1WW

Am unable to decipher the two ships attached to Tamar.  @horatio2 or @KizmeRD may have more luck than I.

VICTORY again.

Best you post his Service Parchment, it would assist us in interpreting his career for you.

Edited by RNCVR

One of the ships attached to Tamar might be FAME - she was a Destroyer of 1896 based at Hong Kong in that timeframe. She was sold in 1921 in Hong Kong.

The first ship mentioned, based at Hong Kong on the China Station (TAMAR) was HMS Sandpiper (a river gunboat).

Agree with RNCVR that the second ship attached to TAMAR is most likely HMS Fame.

MB

40 minutes ago, John(txic) said: