Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Personnel ID

Peterhastie

From another web page. Can anyone ID any of the men?

Labelled as "Part of an album of RFC photos"

318533517_9092398757440723_7294982609610267694_n.jpg

Edited by Peterhastie

I'm no expert so I'll tell you what I see
Definitely 1918 or later
Many senior staff officers

The [Major/Lieutenant General?] General in the front middle has an impressive row of medals. I can tell you with confidence he was a veteran of the Sudan and South African campaigns.

The man to his left has 4 overseas chevrons and a [Second] Boer War campaign ribbon. Perhaps he's also got a DSO?

Nearly all the officers in the front row has a 1914 star.

The Major in Second row from front on right has a Military Cross and has been wounded twice
The Captain [Second row from front] third from left has a DCM and I think a Croix De Guerre but swapped around.

Perhaps @FROGSMILE might be able to tell us the Regiments shown here [I can see MGC and Foot Guards I think] and we could probably link it up to a General

Sorry if it isn't much,
Zidane.

The General's medal set seems to be the following

GCB[?], G/KCVO[?], ?
Africa General Service Medal, Egypt Medal [?], East and West Africa Medal[?], 1914 Star
Foreign decorations for the bottom row. Probably a Croix De Guerre, Légion d'Honneur among them.

Edited by tankengine888

It may be in an album labelled RFC but none of them are wearing wings.

11 hours ago, tankengine888 said:

I'm no expert so I'll tell you what I see
Definitely 1918 or later
Many senior staff officers

The [Major/Lieutenant General?] General in the front middle has an impressive row of medals. I can tell you with confidence he was a veteran of the Sudan and South African campaigns.

The man to his left has 4 overseas chevrons and a [Second] Boer War campaign ribbon. Perhaps he's also got a DSO?

Nearly all the officers in the front row has a 1914 star.