Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Help with finding photo of GG Victor Arthur Legge

Emma V Legge

Hello 👋 This is my first time within a war forum. I have been researching my GG Victor Arthur Legge (Born 1888 - Died August 31st 1916) who served with 1/5th hants howitzer battery as a driver. From what I have unearthed so far,  he is buried within Baghdad Northgate war cemetry (previously Afion cemetery where his body was exhumed from)  To date, after searching find my past & many other sites I've happened upon (some by accident) I have not been successful in my endeavors to obtain a photo of him. I haven't yet tried my local library, as I'm new to the area. Can someone please help me find him or guide me to any other possible sources?

Many many heartfelt thanks 

• Admin

Welcome to the forum. Your best bet for photos really is local newspapers of the time. 

2 hours ago, Emma V Legge said:

Victor Arthur Legge

Hi @Emma V Legge and welcome to the forum:)

Just need to check that name with you.

The Commonwealth War Graves Commission website simply lists him as 4535 Driver V.A. Legge, 1st/5th Hants Howitzer Bty, Royal Field Artillery.
But his service medal roll entry has him as Victor Alf Legge. (Ancestry).
His entry in Soldiers Died in the Great War, an HMSO publication from the 1920's created from information supplied by the Army shows him as Victor Alfred LEGG.
His entry in the Army Register of Soldiers Effects, a financial ledger rather than a list of his personal belongings, shows him as Victor Alfred Legge. (Ancestry or Fold3).
His Ministry of Pensions Card has him down as Victor Alfred Legge. (Transcript on Ancestry, Image on Fold 3).

His entry in the Register of Soldiers Effects will show who the balance of his pay and his war gratuity went, which can be a useful check that the right man has been identified.