Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Introduction & New Website

justmycuppatea

Hello All! I've just registered as 'justmycuppatea' as you can see, my real name is David Milner and I've always taken an interest in the World Wars. Recently I have read the books Forgotten Voices by Max Arthur and A War In Words, which as you probably know are both first hand accounts from the Great War.

These books are absolutely amazing and fired my interested in The Great War and my family history within it. After some digging around and visiting some relatives I found that a young Milner died in France during 1918 (infact 29th March 1918) as shown on the War Graves Commission website. All the inform was backed up by family stories and a picture and medals were dug out by my Grandad.

In tribute to his untimely death (believed to be at the age of 17), as a web designer I launched a site in his memory at the following address: In Memory of Israel Milner

The site still needs lots of work but as I discover new information and material I should be able to add to it. It was only launched yesterday, in time for the 87th Anniversary of his registered death.

Thanks for reading, looking forward to hearing from you all and any resources you can put me in touch with.

Cheers

justmycuppatea

Welcome to the Forum. It may inetrest you to know that tapes/CDs are available of the Max Arthur "Voices" books for both WW1 and WW2. These are recordings of the veterans themselves and can be picked up for about £35 on the net for the set of 12 CDs I think (not sure how many tapes).

Would this be Israel Milner, born March Qtr 1898, North Bierley, West Riding of Yorkshire?

Perhaps the son of Israel Milner, married Sep Qtr 1886 registered in Bradford to Ann Butterfield and of Tong, Yorkshire, brother of Herbert, born 1890?

I realise the age is not quite right. This Israel would have been 20 in 1918.