Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

John William Gleave

big jar of wasps

Hi,

I`m doing some research on a guy from my village, that I know served in the Boer War. I have his service papers for this period, but wondered if he had any service in WW1, he certainly would have been of the age for service. But as his papers only cover the Boer War. Is it usual to have two lots of papers, or if he had any WW1 service would his papers have been linked?

Here is what I have.......

2754 Trp John William Gleave 22nd Cheshire Coy Imperial Yeomanry

John William Gleave, was born in St Asaph around 1882. He lived at ` Mount Pleasant` on Mount Road. He was a painter and decorator by trade, he served a 4 year apprentiship with Mr Peacock of St George.

On the 18th February 1901, John travelled to Chester and enlisted in the 22nd Cheshire Company of the Imperial Yeomanry, part of the 2nd Battalion of the Imperial Yeomanry, his age on enlistment is give as 20 years and 3 months. His papers described him as 5`4 1/4” tall, with a fresh complexion, blue eyes and dark brown hair. Religion Church of England.

On the 8th March 1901, he arrived in South Africa. Joining the 22nd on or around the11th April 1901, at Brandfort, in the Orange River Colony and continued to serve in South Africa till the 27th September 1901. John was discharged from the Army on the 23rd November 1901 at Shornecliffe Barracks as being unfit for further service.

He is entitled to the Queen’s South Africa with 3 clasps, Cape Colony, Orange Free State and South Africa 1901.

John died aged 56 years of age, on the 30th December 1938 and is buried in Mount Road Cemetery, along with his Wife Hannah Gleaves aged 61 10th May 1941, and son John William Gleaves aged 66, 30th January 1980.