Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Tank Corps HQ war diary (Appendix)

stevew

Hi has anyone got a copy of the appendix, although I am beginning to think there may not be one for the tanks at the Messines on 7 June 17.  I am particularly after the movements for 'B' Battalion.  I have checked both the relevant diaries (HQ and 2nd Battalion) but they don't show much.  The 'B' Battalion diary does mention an appendix but it doesn't appear to be attached the diary

The type written copy at the Tank Museum states that

Detail of Operations see Appx E1, company commanders reports. [missing]

Hi, I'm not an expert on Messines so may be giving you a bum steer, but this list in the Tank Corps HQ War Diary seems to relate to B Bn at Messines. It's currently free to download from the NA website: https://discovery.nationalarchives.gov.uk/details/r/01685dcf79be45e49c7029acb22d386d 

I'm not sure if this is what you need, but unfortunately there's no sign of company commanders' reports. You could also try the War Diaries for 2nd Tank Brigade HQ if you haven't already done so.

John

image.png.1ac1b277564808ab099a309e80a969ca.png

14 hours ago, johntaylor said:

Hi, I'm not an expert on Messines so may be giving you a bum steer, but this list in the Tank Corps HQ War Diary seems to relate to B Bn at Messines. It's currently free to download from the NA website: https://discovery.nationalarchives.gov.uk/details/r/01685dcf79be45e49c7029acb22d386d 

I'm not sure if this is what you need, but unfortunately there's no sign of company commanders' reports. You could also try the War Diaries for 2nd Tank Brigade HQ if you haven't already done so.

John

Hi John,

It does help and I had glossed over this before for some reason, but on closer inspection I see it does provide some information, it's a starting point.