Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

1st Battalion Rifles on 1 November 1918.

Lesley Harris

First time using this site........I'm interested in the 1st Battalion Rifles on 1 Nov 1918.  My late husband's family relation was killed and is buried in Preseau cemetery.  His name was Harold Thomas Pettitt no 49402.  I believe that his name also appears incorrectly as H J Pettitt.

On the war graves site i see that another solider C Pettitt  (but may also be G Pettitt) B/200971  also 1st Bn Rifle Brigade is two graves along, but I cannot find any family link as yet.

I am grateful for any info on the battalion on a day so close to the end of this war.  I am a complete novice at this but following on from my husband's interest.

thanks 

Hi @Lesley Harris and welcome to the forum.

Unfortunately the service records for Private 49402 Harold Thomas Pettitt, 1st Battalion, Rifle Brigade, were among the majority that went up in flames in WW2 when German bombs hit the London Warehouse where they were being stored.

Soldiers Died in the Great War, an HMSO publication from the 1920's records that he was born, resident, and enlisted in Northampton. He was killed in action on the 1st November 1918.

As you're no doubt aware his webpage on the Commonwealth War Graves Commission, (CWGC), website shows that he was aged 18 when he died, and was the son of Thomas Scott Pettitt and Harriet Pettitt, of 44, Gordon St., Northampton. https://www.cwgc.org/find-records/find-war-dead/casualty-details/579283/harold-thomas-pettitt/