Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

17th / 23rd Middlesex locations in 1916 / 1917

The Guardroom

Can anyone help place these 2 Middlesex Battalions please.

Looking for where the 17th Bn Middlesesx were during the 28th July 1916 and the 23rd Bn Middlesex were during the 9th June 1917?

Any other info would be appreciated on these 2 Bn's during these dates.

Many thanks,

Alan

Alan,

British Battalions on the Somme states,

17th Middlesex on July 27th 1916 to front line at Delville Wood.

July 28th - Strong German counter attack repulsed.

Bob.

Alan,

If you ever need any other info on the 17th, please feel free to contact me. I have been researching this battalion for a few years now. Do you have a family connection?

Regards,

AGWR

Thank you both for such a quick reply.

I had a Gt Uncle who served in the 17th and later the 23rd Bn.

Recently found out that he was injured with the 17th in July 1916 and sent back home to recover after an SW arm L (presume shrapnel wound left arm).

He later went back to France with the 23rd in Dec 1916 to get wounded again on the 9 June 1917 by a GSW to the back. Again sent home and died in (Guildford) Surrey County Hospital on the 17 Aug 1917. Not sure why he died over a month later, could have been infection or other complications.

Buried in the UK at Chingford.

Alan

Alan,

Apologies for delay in replying.

Your Gt-Uncle wasn't by any chance called Burt was he? If so, do you know if he had a brother called Alfred?

Kind Regards,

AGWR

Hi AGWR,

Yep Burt is the man. I saw him mentioned in previous postings and been intouch with the guy who was looking for him. This is the second relative I have found mentioned on the forum.

Family history is a little sketchy but he had a brother Alfred Robert aged 22 in 1915 and a sister Nellie Alexander aged 15 in 1915.