Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Interpreting ASC casualty record

rossf9

Hi - I'm researching my g-grandfather's WW1 record. I'm quite new to this and the combination of acronyms and handwriting are making some of the documents challenging to read!

Can anyone help with the below? Many thanks!

image.jpeg.bf5ca6c92b45888774bd659052a62f19.jpeg

• Admin

Welcome to the forum 

26/11/16 ASC Base Depot  To No 2 Divl (Divisional) Train ) 103 Company.

27/2/17 89 F(ield) Amb(ulance)) Appointed A(cting) L(ance) Cpl (Corporal) without Pay 

22/3/17 103 Coy (company) 2 Div(isional)  Tr (train) I can’t quite make out the rest of that line 

24/4/17 do (ditto) a(acting) L(lance) Cpl(corporal) Appointed A(acting) Cpl(corporal)

Thats for starters 

1 hour ago, Michelle Young said:

Welcome to the forum 

26/11/16 ASC Base Depot  To No 2 Divl (Divisional) Train ) 103 Company.

27/2/17 89 F(ield) Amb(ulance)) Appointed A(cting) L(ance) Cpl (Corporal) without Pay 

22/3/17 103 Coy (company) 2 Div(isional)  Tr (train) I can’t quite make out the rest of that line 

24/4/17 do (ditto) a(acting) L(lance) Cpl(corporal) Appointed A(acting) Cpl(corporal)

Thats for starters 

Amazing, thank you.

What does the date in 'Date of Casualty' mean? Eg one of the lines has a 'report date' of 27/2/17 but a casualty date of 10/4/15 - why would there be such a long time between the dates?

Are the remarks in the final column relevant/useful?

Date of casualty is actually the date when the event occurred, whereas 'Date' (in the left hand column) is the date the entry was made. It looks strange to our eyes but that's the way they did it.

Which means that the entries that Michelle has transcribed for you should have different dates thus:

ASC Base Depot  To No 2 Divl (Divisional) Train ) No. 3 Company  -16/11/16 [ entry written 26/11/16]

89 F(ield) Amb(ulance)) Appointed A(cting) L(ance) Cpl (Corporal) without Pay  -10/4/15 [entry written 27/2/17]