Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Charles Edgar Evershed

Mick M

I'm looking for info on the above, my maternal grandfather. I know he joined the RFC I think in 1915 he never spoke of it and cried when Chamberin waved his piece of paper in the air, whilst he served at home he was deeply affected by it as his brother Dudley served on the Western Front was gassed and buried alive leaving him bald and shaky with shell shock for the rest of his life.

He was a Draper by profession so may have been employed in that capacity, we think he trained as a pilot in 1918 but the war ended, he tried to rejoin in 39 but was turned down on age.

The picture may have been taken at Xmas 1916, it's numbered with another so dated.

Ta.

1652364153791481531300.jpg

Edited by Mick M
Add pic.

File is AIR 79/107/8204 as Edgar Charles Evershed

Service number 8204 indicates a 1915 recruit

Not digitized by TNA, available via Findmypast etc for a fee unless someone has a subscription and will download it..

15 minutes ago, nieuport11 said:

Not digitized by TNA, available via Findmypast etc for a fee unless someone has a subscription and will download it..

Skating on thin ice. Note the rules - Members may NOT use the GWF as a platform to ask parties who are subscribers to various subscription sites to download material on their behalf or to post it on the GWF.

1 hour ago, horatio2 said:

http://www.rafmuseumstoryvault.org.uk/archive/evershed-e.c  records him as an Acetylene Welder (Air Mech 1) in both RFC and RAF service.

Thank you,

Was the 1917 promotion from II class to I class? I expect he was taught the welding....during the 2nd war he was employed making precision instrumentation for ships.

Mick..

1 hour ago, nieuport11 said:

File is AIR 79/107/8204 as Edgar Charles Evershed

Service number 8204 indicates a 1915 recruit

Thank you.

32 minutes ago, horatio2 said:

I believe that to be correct.

Thank you.

2 hours ago, horatio2 said: