Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Determining exact location of a wounding in 63rd RND battle

Neilo19

Hello All,

My grandfather was in the Hawke battalion of the 63rd RND and was wounded on 25th August 1918 .

According to the war diaries of his battalion - There were 2 potential battles one was in Loupart Wood and 2 companies were attacked (This is where Lt Co Oswald Wainwright fell ) but the other 2 companies made it through the wood to La Barque where another skirmish occurred with casualties .

I haven't been able to determine if my grandfather was in A B C or D company from his service record - is there a way of filtering down as to what company he may have been with in his time on the front line and in those battles ??

Many thanks

1 hour ago, Neilo19 said:

His name was Asa Kent R1537

Nelio19, do you have the full breakdown of his record from FMP? There is a reference number that may suggest he was in C Company. I am no expert here but just read through the record... C/1676 "Wounded" 25.8.18. It appears there is a different reference number for each incident.

@RNCVR

@horatio2

8C029529-46B2-4A23-BD13-CDDC37CF5AC8_4_5005_c.jpeg

Edited by Gunner 87

The reference C/1440 is used before "Wounded' 30.12.17 .... I'm sure one of our experts will explain this but it appears he gets a reference number unique to the Company he is serving in..

C70EF1B1-E892-45E9-9362-275B046A9591_4_5005_c.jpeg

Edited by Gunner 87

They are Casualty List numbers. I think this sequence was created by the WO from lists sent from AG in the theatre of war and then posted/telegraphed to each regional or unit records office.

That would then eventually filter into the HMSO printed casualty list.

I think offhand there are about 15 C type lists in the Casualty Lists topic, I'll try to remember to check tomorrow but the chances are slim.

TEW

5 minutes ago, TEW said: