Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

The Chistmas Truce

marshallhaig

Hi everyone,

I'm a high school student looking to research a paper about the 1914 christmas truce. I've read a few first world war books but they all seem to skim over the topic, and I can only find one or two books specifically about the topic. Does anyone know other useful resources about the topic, and where to find them?

Hi @marshallhaig and welcome to the forum.

I would suggest starting with our parent site, The Long, Long Trail, which has this article https://www.longlongtrail.co.uk/battles/battles-of-the-western-front-in-france-and-flanders/winter-operations-1914-15-western-front/legends-myths-and-realities-the-christmas-truce-1914/

Also worth using the forum search facility at the top of the page.

Are you interested in the experiences of any one unit or just what did and didn't happen along the British Army sector of the front line on the 25th December 1914?

Cheers,
Peter

Welcome to the forum.

The British Newspaper Archive is a useful resource for contemporary accounts and attitudes, original source material is always appreciated by those who mark these things. A small example of what can be found is attached

The-Christmas-Truce-Westminster-Gazette-Friday-08-January-1915-British-Newspaper-Archive.png

I would recommend Terri Blom Crocker's 'The Christmas Truce' which is particularly good on the emergence of the myths of 25th December 1914. Chris Baker's 'Truce' is a really detailed analysis which puts the day into the context of the operations leading up to it. Chris wrote the Long Long Trail stuff that Peter recommends, I would add my recommendation to that and the book too. If you search on 'Christmas Truce' you will find a lot of forum topics with some serious analysis too. If you look for posts by @bierast there is some excellent stuff about the German perspective with particular emphasis on the Saxon units.