Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Royal Navy "Q" Ships

Myrtle

A friend's grandfather was a master mariner for a number of years before WW1 and then according to his records captained The Lodorer between 6th October 1915 until 31st December 1915. Would this have been the Lodorer which was in reality the Farnborough or another ship ?

The same man went on to The Wisley until late 1919. I know that he was near Hong Kong May 27th 1916 as they had to beach following a fire on board. Does anyone know anything about The Wisley ?

Myrtle

Loderer was Farnborough was HMS Q5. Commanded by Campbell VC.

An article at

http://www.rcnvr.com/a%20-%20WW1%20-%20RCN%20-%20RN.php

WOODISON, Stanley, Wireman (M.15547) - Mention in Despatches - RN / HMS Q.5

- Awarded as per London Gazette of 23 March 1917.

Stanley Woodison was born on 22 August 1887, at Windsor, Ontario, Canada. An Electrician (Wireman) by trade,

he volunteered for the Royal Navy on 6 October 1915, for the duration of the hostilities, and served throughout the

war in 'Q' ships under Captain Gordon Campbell. In the space of less than two years he would witness the destruction

of three U-boats in actions which would be rewarded with no less than 5 V.C's, 7 D.S.O's, 13 D.S.C's, 7 C.G.M's,

45 D.S.M's, and numerous M.I.D's.

Woodison joined HMS Loderer (later HMS Farnborough and HMS Q.5) on 5 November 1915.

On 22 March 1916, HMS Farnbourough enjoyed her first success with the sinking of the U-68, bringing promotion to

Commander for Campbell and the first of his three D.S.O's. With her name changed to HMS Q.5, she next sank

the U-83 on 17 February 1917, but was herself badly damaged by torpedoes and had to be beached. ( is this the one you mention?)

Campbell was awarded the Victoria Cross for this action, and many crew members received decorations or mentions,

including Woodison.

I can't find Wisely in a trawl through Dittmar & Colledge.

Aye

Malcolm

Malcolm