Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Unnamed LS&GC medal

Stevie

I have in my possession a seven medal group to an officer of 2nd Dragoons. He was awarded his LS&GC medal in 1919, but the medal with the group is unnamed - although it has not been erased. How unusual is this, and have any forum members encountered an allegedly issued, but unnamed medal before? I would welcome your thoughts on this.

Cheers,

Steve.

P1020448.JPG

Edited by Stevie

I'm no medal expert but I've always been under the impression that, during the time frame we're interested in, the LS&GC medal was only awarded up to warrant officer rank and not to commissioned officers?  Did the officer concerned have a significant period of rank service before his commission?

Steve

Hi Steve,

Captain Elliott was a W.O. Cl.1 up until being commissioned as Quartermaster on December 31st 1924. He was then promoted to Captain (Quartermaster) on December 31st 1932.

Cheers,

Steve

P1020453.JPG

Steve, his LS should deffo be named & would be named to him as a WO1 if he was awarded it in 1919.

It is possible his named LS was split from his 1WW medals sometime in the past, & possibly a previous collector has replaced it with an unnamed medal to represent his entitlement.

Unnamed LS medals I have seen in the past but usually VR issues. I dont know how common un named  Geo V issues would be.

3 hours ago, RNCVR said:

his LS should deffo be named & would be named to him as a WO1 if he was awarded it in 1919.

It is possible his named LS was split from his 1WW medals sometime in the past, & possibly a previous collector has replaced it with an unnamed medal to represent his entitlement.

He was clearly awarded the LS&GC medal as per the register...

image.png.dee327167599cfc8bec0123a0608d3d0.png

[Image from NA ref WO 102/18-1]