Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Eaton's Stores in England

Moonraker

I've been collecting "military Wiltshire" postcards for nine years and at fairs must have sorted through tens of thousands of WWI military cards. Every now and then I come across cards captioned "The Camp" and published by Eaton's Stores. They've always been unused, so there's no clues from postmarks or messages.

At which English camp(s) were Eaton's Stores? (There's no connection with the Eaton Departmental Store in Montreal, the subject of a thread started in September 2004 by Chris Wright.)

The unhelpful caption was probably a nod towards censorship rules, which seem to have been variously observed or otherwise in different parts of the country. But there couldn't have been much point in banning the camp name in the postcard caption if the postmark gave the location away. It's often possible for collectors to work out which camp is shown, though early on in my collecting I was fooled by cards published by J H Simpson of Andover, which turned out to be of Chisledon 28 miles away.

I am not aware of an EATON'S store/outlet in England [something akin to Marks & Spencer but perhaps larger] in England during the war, however, there was a special military formation that was first formed, funded and named for this millionaire family ... Eaton Motor Machine Gun Battery.

The Eaton Battery was later merged into the 1st Canadian Motor Machine Gun Brigade.

This material MIGHT be associated with the base camp in England - probably not but perhaps a lead you might first follow.

• 10 years later...

Its' been ten years since I posted the above, and I still don't know the answer! So I hope I may be forgiven for "bumping".

I'm prompted to do so because a vendor is offering three Eaton's postcards of "The Camp", ascribing them to Lark Hill when the scenes are manifestly not. One features a baseball game, which suggests an American camp (in Britain).