Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Australian Great War Accounts

other ranker

I have been collecting these books for several years now. They are usually really well written and considered classics down under. Many of the best have been gathered in the 'Gallant Legion' series. See the picture for the titles. Do you have any favourites?

102046_00.jpg

That's a fine set of books . I've not read many Aussie accounts but my favourite isn't one of those above , it's Mitchell's 'Backs to the Wall '. I thought that 'The Gallant Company' was very good but couldn't get far with 'The Silent Division' as it felt more like a unit history than a memoir . I must get around to reading 'Jacka's Mob' , 'Hell's Bells' and 'Iron in the fire' sometime but at the moment i'm concentrating on the air war , so will probably be reading 'Aces and Kings' soon . I had a blitz on reading my escaping books but they were all Western Front so didn't read 'Guests of the Unspeakable ' The P.O.W books of that campaign are another group of books i must read someday , i did read '450 miles to freedom' and thought it was brilliant . I suppose it's a case of so many books and so little time to read them .

National Library of Australia catalogue entry which gives some details of the books above, which mainly appear to have been published in the early-mid 1930s

https://catalogue.nla.gov.au/Search/Home?lookfor="Gallant+Legion"&type=all&limit[]=&submit=Find

Monash's book is available online:

The Australian Victories in France in 1918 by Lieutenant-General Sir John Monash [1920] Archive.org. Images and maps from the book (different digital file) Archive.org.

A rather nice set - are they yours? I find I’ve got 6 of them in various editions and I’ve only read 3. Of those I probably liked Idriess ‘Desert Column’ best but it’s been so long since I read it I can’t recall much about it. It’s certainly the hardest and most expensive to find of all the Aussie memoirs.