Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

196788 Spr Richard Robert Burton

OwenMartin

And for anyone interested I’m also doing research on my Welsh side of the same in particular WR/551025-196788 Spr Richard Robert Burton I have his Medal index card but am struggling to find out anything else of his service my Nan thinks he was in Egypt but I have no idea 

790CABE7-96E1-4552-94F2-40B04912AD4D.png

Thanks David, the BW & B medal rolls what does that mean and thank you for the other information 

Sorry Owen, It means British War and Victory Medal roll. Those medals were awarded to your man. The WR prefix service number puts him in a Royal Engineers transport unit. They were renumbered in 1918 (March, I think). The medal roll is titled 'Royal Engineers IW D'. I think, that is 'Inland Waterways & Docks.' I'm a relative beginner at this, so others may know better & certainly more.

Regards. D.

Thank you Dave, 

ill have a go at looking for his medals and do some more research

Owen

He has a Pension Card-part copied thanks to Fold3/Ancestry

1665882547_BurtonRichardRobert(WR551025).jpg.d9aa78dd6fcb66fab2ea88f463ac7943.jpg

Which doesn't tell us a great deal!

George

21 minutes ago, OwenMartin said:

the BW & B medal rolls what does that mean and thank you for the other information 

All those who served in a Theatre of War had an entitlement to the British War Medal (BW or BWM) and Victory Medal (V or VM), but for an individual to only receive those two means he did not serve in a Theatre of War until some point on or after the 1st January 1916. There were additional medals for men who served in a Theatre of War before that time. See this webpage on our  parent site, The Long, Long Trail. https://www.longlongtrail.co.uk/soldiers/how-to-research-a-soldier/campaign-medal-records/the-british-campaign-medals-for-the-great-war/