12th Squadron

Secondary Unit - General List

Age 24

D of Death - 23/04/1917

Cemetery - Douai Communal Cemetery

D 12

Many questions about this record.

Where was 12th Squadron based?

As he was from the General List, would this be a temporary attachment?

CWGC states that Douai Communal Cem. is 24 kilometers N of Arras and was in German hands from the end of 1914.

Prisoners of War are buried/commemorated here as well as German soldiers.

D 12 seems to be a memorial or multiple burial.

Might 2nd Lt. Dunford have come down in his plane, been captured and died immediately, as he doesn't seem to have gone to a camp?

2nd Lt. Dunford also appears on the Canadian Virtual memorial and on the Buckinghamshire Memorial Site. Would this mean that he was with Canadian Forces.?

Do these squadrons have War Diaries?

I have no experience of researching R. F. C. men and would really like any good links to sites with information.

Kate

2/Lt Dunford died on 23.04.17 of wounds received on 11.04.17 in the crash of B.E.2d serial no. 5851. His crewman, Cpl George Stewart was killed in the crash.

Dunford came from Newcastle-upon-Tyne

'Airmen Died' gives his squadron as 13 Sqdn.

Terry

Thank you so much. That is such a valuable piece of information and such a speedy response.

Is it from Airmen Died and is that similar to SDGW?

Where can I find out about BE 2d 5851?

After posting my original questions tonight, it occurred to me that perhaps he had emigrated to Canada at some point.

Sure enough his attestation papers were on the Canadian Archive site.

Kate

Kate

The info comes from the book 'Airmen Died in the Great War' by Chris Hobson (published by J.B.Hayward & Son ISBN 0 903754 45 2 - 446pp).