Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Interpret this card

Gaillimh1

Can someone please explain this card for me.

1290987828_LynchFrancereference.jpg.380135febbc036c880189e8237d5eb80.jpg

Does this mean that J L Lynch was sent to France on December 19 1915 and if so is there any way of following in his footsteps there.

A relative.

Correct.
It also indicates that there is another medal index card for him under another ACC - Army Cyclist Corps number. See annotation at top of card - James Lynch.That will be for his British war Anne victory medals. This card is for the 1914/15 Star
The RDC is the Royal Defence Corps and he went to that after the RDC. 
He joins the Welsh Regiment in 1919

Following his footsteps is dependent on finding other records

Edited by Mark1959

As a novice i will give it a go.  

RDC - Royal Defence Corps.  So Uk garrison and protection units 

7616 is his welsh regiment number 

This is Pension Index Card [for a Disability claim] at the Western Front Association / Fold3 

509064043_LYNCHJL.png.e3144f30cd8cbc061823ae3f301ae6f0.png

Image courtesy Western Front Association / Fold3 - with thanks

Should add a bit more for you [and help you and other GWF members] I hope

There appears to be a new Regimental Number 67640 [In the same ink and hand as Welsh]

And I think the R D F is likely to be Royal Dublin Fusiliers

:-) M

Edit:

There is another Pension Ledger Index Card for James Lewin LYNCH, 67640, Welsh Regiment but it reveals little more

Given the address on the pension card this looks like the 1911 census return for him

http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/pages/1911/Galway/Dunmore_South/Ballagh__West/475357/

and 1901

http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/pages/1901/Galway/Dunmore/Ballagh_West/1398573/

There is another card that indicates he was James Lewin Lynch

Edited by Mark1959