Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Lance Corporal Arthur George Butcher of the 13th Battalion, Rifle Brigade

IanButcher

I wonder if anyone may be able to help? I'm very new to this and a novice looking into my family history. 

I’ve been looking into my Great Uncle’s involvement during the Battle of the Somme. His name was Lance Corporal Arthur George Butcher (Z/2741) of the 13thBattalion, Rifle Brigade. He died on the 10th July 1916. As I understand the 13th were originally attached to the 21st Division, then moved to the 111th Brigade, 37thDivision. It appears that the 13th were in reserve of the 56th Brigade (19th Western Division) who were in action at La Boisselle before 6th July 2016. However, for a short period, the Brigade was then attached to the 34th Division from 7th July 1916 – 21st August 1916 also at La Boisselle, the period during which my Great Uncle unfortunately died. If this is correct, this is when he would have been on the front line. As far as I can tell, on the 10th July (the day he died), he was part of an attack on the Tara-Usna Line towards Ovillers. My Great Uncle was killed in action. My Grandad (also now passed) told that eye witnesses relayed that one minute my Great Uncle was there, then next he was gone, suggesting that he had been killed by German shelling. This would match with the fact his memorial is at Thiepval, for those ‘missing’ on the Somme. I also noted that many other members in the Battalion also died that day. The above also appears to correlate with the following extracts I’ve found: