Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Caesar (Safa-El-Bahr) transfers 1918 then Vivid III 1919

Mike Leishman

Hello,

Apologies up front for errors. I'm new to this! I also appreciate any help given.

I am not sure if I am over/misinterpreting my Grandfather's records, but I'd like to know if the 'Period of Service' dates refer to when a person was transferred 'on paper' rather than 'physically'? Am I right in thinking that the first named ship is the accounting base and the ship named in brackets is where he would have actually been serving?

If the second last ship on his service record is the 'Caesar' then I read, in a log transcript, that on Nov 16th 1918, 6 wireless ratings joined the ship from 'Egmont' and on 18th Nov 1918, 5 wireless ratings joined from 'Egmont'. I thought one might have been my Grandfather, but there isn't any indication of ratings leaving 'Caesar' at the end of December (31 Dec 1918 being the date entered under 'Period of Service') when it was in Constantinople. However, Yacht Safa-El-Bahr is mentioned on the 16th/17th Dec then again on 23rd Feb 1919.

Might it just be that 'Safa-El-Bahr' was assigned to 'Caesar' from 'Egmont', some time in Nov 1918, went with her to Constantinople then went on to Devonport, where my Grandfather may have disembarked, before returning to Constantinople?

Thanks in advance for any pointers.

Mike

LEISHMAN Robert 1900 Z9283.pdf

His service sheet shows that he remained with Safa-El-Bahr when it relocated from Malta (Egmont) to Constantinople (tendered to HMS Caesar, depot maintenance ship). He probably arrived there at same time as the rest of the Allied occupation fleet. A few months later he returned to Plymouth (Vivid) where he was demobbed.

MB